James Fitzgerald Award

Greetings in the Lord Jesus,

I trust this letter finds you well as we all are in the midst of our Lenten season. 

At this time, as the chair of one of our CADEIO Standing Committees, I am pleased to receive nominations for the prestigious Catholic Association of Diocesan Ecumenical and Interreligious Officers’ Fitzgerald Award.  This annual Award will be presented this year at the CADEIO General Assembly Meeting during the National Workshop for Christian Unity in Silver Spring, Maryland the week of April 16-19, 2018. 

All nominations and all endorsements are to be made by full, dues-paid members of CADEIO.  If your 2018 dues are not in order, or if they are in question, please contact Mr. Rick Caporali at rcaporali@stbernpar.org.  A nomination form is attached to this email.  Please return your nominations to me by surface mail or e-mail, including all supporting materials, to arrive no later than Friday, March 9, 2018, to: 

  • Fr. Bob Flannery
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church
  • 303 South Poplar Street
  • Carbondale, Illinois 62901-2709
  • Email:  rbflan@clearwave.com 

Thank you for your participation.  If you have any questions or need more information, please feel free to contact me 618.303.7412.  Once all the proper nominations have been received, the Board of Directors of CADEIO will vote on the candidates using a weighted vote.   

God’s peace,  


The Fitzgerald Award is given “…for outstanding contribution and service in the work of Christian unity (and interreligious cooperation) to either a person or an organization, honoring the national, international or regional impact of the recipient and his/her work….” 

2018 James Fitzgerald Award Nomination Form

­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­ James Fitzgerald Award Honorees

1979        Lawrence Cardinal Shehan

1980        The Atonement Friars of Graymoor

1981        The Augustinian Fathers of the Assumption

1982        The Grand Rapids Center for Ecumenism (GRACE)

The Reverend Monsignor Lawrence Wiskerchen (posthumous)

1983        The Most Reverend Ernest L. Unterkoefler

1984        The Reverend Thomas F. Stransky, CSP

1985        The Reverend John Long, SJ

1986        Brother Jeffrey Gros, FSC

1987        Johannes Cardinal Willebrands

1988        The Reverend Monsignor Royale M. Vadakin

1989        The Reverend Stanley A. Schmidt

1990        The Reverend John F. Hotchkin

1991        The Reverend Thaddeus D. Horgan, SA

1992        The Reverend Monsignor Alexander J. Brunett

1993        The Reverend George Tavard, AA

1994        Ms. Marge Nurnberg

1995        The Reverend John H. McDonnell

1996        The Glenmary Order

1997        The Reverend Ernest R. Falardeau, SSS

1998        The Most Reverend Rembert G. Weakland

1999        The Reverend Mr. Thomas McGowan

2000        Sister Joan Delaney, MM

2001        The Reverend Kilian McDonnell, OSB

2002        Sister Therese Dion, SSA

2003        The Reverend Ronald G. Roberson, CSP

2004        Dr. John Borelli

2005        Catholic Near East Welfare Association

2006        The Reverend John J. Keane, SA

2007        William Cardinal Keeler                                                           

2008        Sister Josephine Kase, IHM

2009        Sister Joan Monica McGuire, OP

2010        Edward Idris Cardinal Cassidy

2011        The Reverend Monsignor John A. Radano

2012        The Reverend James Massa

2013        The Reverend Charles James Parr

2014        The Most Reverend Denis Madden

2015        The Most Reverend Tod Brown and The Most Reverend Richard Sklba

2016        Reverend Tom Ryan, CSP

2017     Sr. Mary Ellen Coombe, NDS

2018     Ms. Judith Longdin

2019     Reverend Joseph Witmer